My roller coaster BG ride

I’m having my regular A1c check in a couple of weeks. I’m not nervous, but I expect it to be higher than my previous ones because of a recent leg injury.

Injuries are no fun for diabetics or for anyone else. Injuries, illnesses, infections or other forms of stress which affect your blood glucose.  Stress makes your body think it’s under attack. As the body prepares to ward off perceived danger, it releases certain hormones which can cause blood sugar to rise. That’s just what I have been through.

I broke my fibula in March, on the ski slopes, in the morning of the first day of a 2-day ski weekend. A few days later, I had surgery that put a rod, a plate and screws inside my leg to fasten the broken pieces back together. After the surgery, I spent the next few weeks in a cast. My injured leg was swollen everyday for about a month, although my calf and thigh muscles shrunk. Each of my right calves calf and right thigh lost about 3 cms in circumference.  My only exercises were hopping about in crutches, rehabilitating my muscles with lame foot and leg movements, and gradually learning how to walk again. In all that time, my BG was unmanageable.

To give me a semblance of control, I lowered my daily carb intake. Don’t ask me by how much since I am not a carb counter. I merely reduced my intake of fruits, bread, and other carbs, even dark chocolate, which I was still eating before the accident. Oh, how I missed them terribly.  As an aside, I must tell you that I do not consider myself a low carb eater, but a lower (that is, low-ER) carb eater. But that’s another story. Anyway, while injured and recuperating, I couldn’t run or do anything else, obviously. Hopping about in crutches was not enough to burn excess BG. Without physical activity, I did not have much choice but to lower my carb intake if I wanted to be on top of my blood glucose and if I did not want to pile on the pounds while I was moving about in crutches. But who really, really, really understands BG? I never thought for a moment that I was in complete control of how much BG will accumulate in my bloodstream.

After two months, my leg is definitely much better now. As the swelling began to subside and I started to take more steps each day, my BG has become more manageable. I’m seeing much better numbers since last week.

The only thing left is for me to go out for a run. I can’t wait!

4 thoughts on “My roller coaster BG ride

  1. runningwithoutsugar Post author

    PS Someone wanted to know what my BG numbers were (I should have provided some numbers!). After I injured my leg, morning FBGs were usually above 130, and I had difficulty keeping post-meal BGs below 160 and between-meal BGs below 120. The trend continued for about 2 months.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: My latest A1c | Running Without Sugar

  3. Pingback: Highs and Lows | Chasing Lows

  4. Skeet

    I am 61, pumping with Humalog for 2 years and welcome advice on the following issue. My 3 times/week starting at 4pm for 1.5hours (45 minutes of heavy exertion stair climber followed by 45 minutes lifting) lowers my BG by 110-140 points requiring urgent consumption of Gatorade G1’s and or GU energy gel’s to deal with the hypo reading, sometimes as low as 41. Tried the “Extend Bar” without significant improvement from the hypo episodes. Have taken to reducing meter computed lunch bolus by 15% to allow 200-225 BG readings confirmed minutes before my exercise regimen. Problem with this method is that I am unable to get into the 6.5-7.0 A1c’s.
    With recently diagnosed heart disease I would love to hear from anyone that may know how to deal with these circumstances?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

