No mobile phone?

This happened yesterday morning. I was running late for work. When I reached my local train station, as I was taking my train pass out of my bag, I felt the pocket where my mobile phone should have been was empty. Empty! I left my mobile phone at home, and at that moment I saw in my mind’s eye exactly where it was. I had a choice: Go back home and be late for work, or spend my day without my phone. Guess what? I was running quite late.

Although I told myself not to be so concerned about not having my phone at hand, I was initially anxious about having left it at home. Until very recently, my phone was just a phone, but I have started using it as my camera (you are free to check my instagram photos). In addition, the social apps bug bit me recently, and I’ve become a little more reliant on my phone for things other than making or receiving phone calls. There’s myfitnesspal, twitter, facebook, endomondo and access to my emails. So, I was expecting some sort of withdrawal symptoms for leaving my phone at home. But there were none.

Really, no withdrawal symptoms? Yes, really. How is that possible? Let me speculate.

First of all, I grew up without mobile phones. This means that I got by without mobile phones. If I was running late, then I was late. If anything unexpected happened, I had to find a phone. It wasn’t easy, but I survived. I got my first mobile phone when I was already working. In those days mobile phones were the size of bricks and, where I was from, you had to be extra careful in using them to make sure no one was using a radar to swipe your phone details (for illegal calls). Thus, phone use was limited.

Second, I realized that I did not have anything that important on my phone. If people (including my husband) needed to contact me, they can find me at the office. I still use a datebook and a pen, instead of the icalendar. If I see a photo opportunity, I just shrug my shoulders for not having my iphone camera, and try my best to commit the moment to memory. There was no reason to panic.

Third, I had reading material in my bag. I recently signed on to Twitter. I use it, not so much for tracking my friends’ interesting thoughts, but to be introduced to interesting articles and websites in a heartbeat, well, compared to the much longer time needed if one were to go through an internet web search engine. But I’m not that reliant on the internet, as I always have a magazine or book in my bag to keep me company when nothing interesting shows up on my Twitter feed, or should my phone die on me.

So, how did my day go? Brilliantly. I did not miss my phone much. I did not really need it. I certainly did not go ballistic or chew on my nails all day for not having my phone stuck to me like a leech.

Lesson learned – I can survive without my phone. So, if one of those apocalyptic movies do come true, even a zombie world domination scenario, I know I’ll survive without my mobile phone.

Leave a Reply

