Saturday mizzle

I love rainy days. They remind me of my childhood when I’d play and take a shower in the rain. As I grew older, I learned that having fun in the rain was something that adults (or most adults) do not do. Sad, isn’t it? That’s probably why I love to run when it’s raining. Running in the rain is one of my favorite things to do.

Last Saturday, I was a happy runner when I woke up to a mizzly morning. I had one of my best rainy day runs this year. Very few people ventured out, and for those who did, there was a sense of camaraderie. When we intrepid runners ran past each other, we nodded and smiled to one another as if to say “You are a real runner for being out in this weather.” Being in the rain, without an umbrella or a raincoat or a cap, gave me the feeling of being cleansed, both physically and mentally. It was invigorating, relaxing and calming.

My adventure in the rain continued in the afternoon and evening, when I went to a fireworks competition with friends.

It was still drizzling when I walked to my local train station, but I decided to ditch my umbrella and cap. I bumped into only one other person on the street who had no protection against the rain. We stopped, looked at each other and smiled.

It was raining where the fireworks competition was held. We thought there would only be a few crazy people like us who would travel far to watch fireworks in the rain. Hah. What did we know? There must have been a few thousand Japanese spectators who came despite the poor weather conditions.

Tsuchiura station

Tsuchiura station

Understandably the number was less than last year’s, but the train stations and the roads leading to the fireworks grounds were nonetheless crowded. If you hold a fireworks competition in the rain, they will come!

This is just a fraction of the crowd.

This is just a fraction of the crowd.

It’s such a shame, though, that the heavy clouds obscured a large number of the fireworks displays, although the whole sky lit up in solid blocks of colors.

Fireworks obscured by the clouds

Fireworks obscured by the clouds

But, the massive displays called star mine were so bright that they got through the clouds. Overall, we enjoyed the show.

Star mine explosions

Star mine explosions

The rain stopped not long after the fireworks competition ended. I would have preferred it if it continued to rain until I went to sleep, but that’s asking too much. I was still happy, just for the chance to be out in the mizzle.

As you can see, it doesn’t take much to make me happy. Simple things, like running in the rain, are all I need. It’s a cliche, but the best things in life are indeed free and simple. The next time that it rains in your neighborhood, go out and take a shower, splash water when you walk by a puddle, and sing and dance in the rain like Gene Kelly, and experience one of the best days of your life.

Leave a Reply

