Diabetes Blog Week: May 18: Favorite Things

As we wrap up another Diabetes Blog Week, let’s share a few of our favorite things from the week. This can be anything from a #DBlogWeek post you loved, a fantastic new-to-you blog you found, a picture someone included in a post that spoke to you, or comment left on your blog that made you smile. Anything you liked is worth sharing! 

“Where do I start?” is my favorite question this week. This was the first thing that came to mind every time I started a post in response to each day’s designated topic for the 2014 Diabetes Blog Week. Now, on the last day of this blog fest, I am again faced with this question.

I’ve met so many new blogs and bloggers, and have been reacquainted with others, that I don’t know where to begin. Since I haven’t read every blog of the 200 bloggers who signed up and all the posts that this week produced, I will refrain from choosing a few. In reality, if I were to enumerate my favorite blogs, posts, bloggers and comments, this post may not end. The posts I managed to read have, without exception, expanded my horizons, deepened my insights into my fellow diabetics’ personal world, and intensified my wish to know more, reach out and share my own thoughts and experiences. This year’s contributions have been so rich that I can safely say that they are all my favorites.

I would like to thank everyone who read, left comments and liked my posts. When I started blogging, I told myself that I really don’t care how many people read my blog. I still feel that way. But I appreciate and am encouraged by the likes and the comments that people leave, which include disagreements with what I’ve written. I welcome discussions for they are a major element in our learning and understanding. I myself am not that active in commenting on other bloggers’ posts, something that I aim to change after this year’s Diabetes Blog Week.

One favorite I am proud to mention is Karen and her efforts to bring this on five years in a row. One of my favorite quotes happens to come from her May 17 post:

When you are dealing with diabetes, sometimes doing everything right doesn’t matter one bit.  Sometimes things will just go to crap no matter what.  We just need to learn to roll with the punches, adjust, and keep going.

Diabetes Blog Week 2014 ends today but not the discoveries, conversations and relationships that were forged this week. While I look forward to next year’s Diabetes Blog Week (Karen, you have your work cut out for you), I am also eager to read fellow bloggers’ inputs in the coming months.

For now, I turn my attention to the many posts waiting to be read. I definitely have a lot of catching up to do.

4 thoughts on “Diabetes Blog Week: May 18: Favorite Things

  1. t1dme

    You have done a better job explaining my thoughts about #DBlogWeek than I myself did. I concur with everything you wrote in this post.

    Reply
    1. runningwithoutsugar Post author

      Thanks. One of the wonderful results of Diabetes Blog Week is meeting new bloggers such as yourself. I’ve enjoyed reading some of your articles and am looking forward to reading more.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

