D Blogging

Note: Day 6 of DBlogWeek. If you have been blogging for a while, what is your favorite sentence or blogpost that you have ever written?  Is it diabetes related or just life related?  If you are a new blogger and don’t have a favorite yet, tell us what motivated you to start sharing your story by writing a blog?  (Thank you Laddie of Test Guess and Go for suggesting this topic. I don’t think I’ve ever written anything that I can say is my all time favorite. Often I read someone else’s article, essay, novel, blog post, or interview, and I think “Man, I wish I had written or said that!” It took me a while to garner enough courage to blog. Envy and frustration made me do it. cloud-709095_1280 Envy. Before I began blogging, there were a number of people whose works I enjoyed reading. I admired them for having the courage to let the public read their written materials. I didn’t have that courage until just a few years ago. In this regard, the young Type 1 diabetic bloggers were among those who inspired me to start my own blog, partly relating to diabetes, partly to exercise and partly to some other topics of interest. I found and still find a lot of the Type 1 D blogs exciting, hopeful, funny and creative. To deal with my envy, I started to write. Frustration. An overwhelming number of diabetic bloggers consisted of Type 1 diabetics (and that’s still the case). Much as I admired the Type 1 D bloggers and despite a number of similarities in their experiences and mine, their stories were also understandably different from my own simply because we have different types of diabetes. I came across only a few Type 2 D blogs. That’s despite the fact that, according to different statistics, Type 2 diabetics consist roughly between 90% to 95% of all people diagnosed with diabetes. So, where were we? I knew that a lot of us were active in online boards and forums but the structure of these media is such that I only got bits and pieces of my fellow diabetics’ experiences. I wanted to read a little bit more than a few lines. So, I thought, hmmm, maybe one way of encouraging my fellow Type 2 diabetics to share their stories is by sharing my own stories, frustrations, ambitions, successes and failures. Now, here I am, sharing my thoughts, experiences and rants. I hope that more Type 2 Ds begin to share their stories online.

Leave a Reply

